The area around Stuttgart boasts a wealth of historic buildings for you to discover, ranging from medieval castles and baroque palaces to magnificent royal residences and long-forgotten ruins. Take a trip back in time to a world of lords and their mistresses, knights and princesses – you can almost imagine how life used to be...!
castles & palaces
Duke Eberhard Ludwig von Wuerttemberg (1693 - 1733) when he was 27 years old, in 1704 laid the cornerstone in his forests 14 km to the north ...of Stuttgart for a hunting castle. This was the beginning of the impressive Baroque residence, the largest German castle grounds, completed by 1733.
The castle now known as Hohentübingen was originally the seat of the Counts Palatine of Tübingen and was first documented In 1078. Following ...the major renovation of the last century (1979 to 1994), Tübingen Castle became the location of one of Europe's largest archaeological university museums.
With the New Castle, Duke Carl Eugen von Wuerttemberg (1744 - 1793) had the last large Baroque residence castle facilities in Germany built. ...He demanded from the city and the Wuerttemberg representatives of the orders that they build a "proper residence which is convenable to his royal dignity and the amplitude of his royal household" because he wanted to make Stuttgart to a second Versailles.
Ludwigsburg's Seeschloss Monrepos is a lakeside palace and Rococo masterpiece with an interior in Empire style, built in an idyllic setting during ...the reign of Duke Carl Eugen between 1758 and 1764.
Duke Johann Friedrich, commissioned the famous court architect Heinrich Schickhardt to restore the complex and lay out, especially for the duchess, ...a terraced garden with a fountain and a "Pomeranzengarten" ("Pomeranzen" being a kind of bitter orange).
Solitude Castle in the forests to the west of Stuttgart also is the work of the constructional minded Duke Carl Eugen. The castle itself served ...for the purpose of representation, for the accommodation of living, social, dining and servants' rooms, on its back side a series of so-called cavalier's buildings were constructed.
- Page 1/5