• Evening atmosphere at the Weissenhofmuseum Stuttgart, © Gregor Lengler
    Evening atmosphere at the Weissenhofmuseum Stuttgart, © Gregor Lengler
Discover

2019 Bauhaus Jubilee in the Stuttgart Region

In the year 2019 the Bauhaus celebrates the 100th anniversary of its founding. The Stuttgart Region has lots to offer in the way of outstanding architectural and cultural highlights in the style of New Building, Modernism and the Avant-garde! Of course they include the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage Site with the two Le Corbusier houses at the Weissenhof Estate in Stuttgart, one of the most famous ensembles of Modernist architecture worldwide. But there are also ballet performances, exhibitions and guided architecture tours. The Bauhaus is celebrating its jubilee, and so is Stuttgart!

Avant-garde in the Stuttgart Region


House in the Weissenhof Estate Stuttgart, © Gregor Lengler

Weissenhof Estate Stuttgart with the UNESCO World Heritage Site of the Weissenhof Museum in the Le Corbusier House


Along with the Bauhaus in Dessau, the Weissenhof Estate is still today the world's most famous ensemble of Modernist architecture, with the two Le Corbusier houses that are now a World Cultural Heritage Site. The Estate's most exceptional building is open to the public as a museum.


Oskar Schlemmer's Triadic Ballet at the State Gallery Stuttgart, © Gregor Lengler

State Gallery Stuttgart


Stuttgart State Gallery's permanent collection boasts several examples of international Modernist art. Some of the most important works by the Bauhaus artist Oskar Schlemmer, such as his world-famous "Triadic Ballet", are on display here, as well as works by Willi Baumeister and Ida Kerkovius.


Tagblatt Tower, © Gregor Lengler

Tagblatt Tower


Erected in 1928 in the style of New Objectivity, this was at the time of construction South Germany's tallest high-rise building and the first in Germany to be made of exposed concrete. The 61-metre-high Tagblatt Tower is still one of the city's landmarks today.


Haus auf der Alb Bad Urach, © Gregor Lengler

"Haus auf der Alb", Bad Urach


The "House on the Alb" is today a conference centre belonging to the Landeszentrale für politische Bildung (Baden-Württemberg Centre for Political Education). Built in 1929/30 by the Stuttgart architect Adolf G. Schneck, it is a rare example of unadorned, transparent and functional Modernist architecture. A small exhibition in the tower room provides information on the building's history.


Art Museum Stuttgart, © Gregor Lengler

Art Museum Stuttgart


The Art Museum Stuttgart also displays works by pioneers and artists of the Bauhaus movement from its collections, such as Adolf Hölzel and Johannes Itten. One of its special highlights is the Baumeister Archive, with works from the estate of Willi Baumeister, who was the typographer of the Werkbund exhibition at the Weissenhof Estate.

• Stuttgarter Avantgarde - Bilder einer Stadt aus den 1920ern
  • Weissenhofmuseum im Haus Le Corbusier in der Abenddämmerung, © Gregor Lengler
    Weissenhofmuseum im Haus Le Corbusier in der Abenddämmerung, © Gregor Lengler
Entdecken

Bauhaus-Jubiläum in der Region Stuttgart 2019

 

Im Jahr 2019 feiert das Bauhaus sein 100-jähriges Gründungsjubiläum. Die Region Stuttgart hat große architektonische und kulturelle Highlights des Neuen Bauens, der Moderne und Avantgarde zu bieten! Dazu zählen natürlich die beiden zum UNESCO-Welterbe gehörenden Häuser Le Corbusier in der Weissenhofsiedlung Stuttgart, die zu den bekanntesten Bauensemblen der Moderne weltweit zählt. Aber auch Ballett, Ausstellungen und Architekturführungen. Bauhaus feiert, die Region Stuttgart feiert mit!

Avantgarde in der Region Stuttgart


Haus in der Weissenhofsiedlung Stuttgart, © Gregor Lengler

Weissenhofsiedlung Stuttgart mit UNESCO-Welterbestätte Weissenhofmuseum im Haus Le Corbusier


Die Weissenhofsiedlung, deren beiden Häuser Le Corbusier zum UNESCO-Welterbe zählen, ist bis heute zusammen mit dem Bauhaus in Dessau das bekannteste Bauensemble der Moderne weltweit. Das außergewöhnlichste Haus der Siedlung kann als Museum besichtigt werden.


Das Triadische Ballett von Oskar Schlemmer in der Staatsgalerie Stuttgart, © Gregor Lengler

Staatsgalerie Stuttgart


In der ständigen Sammlung der Staatsgalerie Stuttgart ist die internationale Moderne zu Hause: Einige der wichtigsten Werke des Bauhaus-Künstlers Oskar Schlemmer – darunter auch das weltberühmte "Triadische Ballett" – sind hier neben Werken von Willi Baumeister oder Ida Kerkovius zu sehen.


Tagblatt-Turm, © Gregor Lengler

Tagblatt-Turm


Das 1928 im Stil der neuen Sachlichkeit errichtete Gebäude war damals das höchste Hochhaus in Süddeutschland und das erste in Deutschland, das in Sichtbeton errichtet wurde. Bis heute ist der 61 m hohe Tagblatt-Turm ein Wahrzeichen der Stadt.


Haus auf der Alb Bad Urach

Haus auf der Alb Bad Urach


Das heutige Tagungszentrum der Landeszentrale für politische Bildung wurde vom Stuttgarter Architekten Adolf G. Schneck 1929/30 realisiert und ist ein seltenes Beispiel der schlichten, transparenten, funktionalen Architektur der Moderne. Eine kleine Ausstellung im Turmzimmer informiert zur Geschichte des Hauses.


Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, © Gregor Lengler

Kunstmuseum Stuttgart


Das Kunstmuseum Stuttgart zeigt in seiner Sammlung auch Vordenker und Künstler des Bauhauses wie Adolf Hölzel oder Johannes Itten. Ein besonderes Highlight ist das Archiv Baumeister mit dem Nachlass Willi Baumeisters, der sich als Typograf an der Werkbund-Ausstellung auf dem Weissenhof beteiligte.