• Staatsgalerie, © SMG Achim Mende
    Staatsgalerie, © SMG Achim Mende
  • Luca Carlevarijs, Interieur mit vier Figuren, um 1710/20, Staatsgalerie Stuttgart, Graphische Sammlung
    Luca Carlevarijs, Interieur mit vier Figuren, um 1710/20, Staatsgalerie Stuttgart, Graphische Sammlung
Discover

La Serenissima - Drawing in Venice from the 16th to the 18th Century

Date:
15 November 2019 – 02 February 2020
(Show more dates)

Venice holds a prominent position on the map of Italy's artistic landscapes. Brought about by the omnipresent reflecting water surfaces, the unusual light in the »Floating City« inspired not only Venetian painters but also and above all draughtsmen. The stroke of ink, often executed with a pen, takes a leading role: playfully scattered dots and little hook-shaped dabs of a spirited, vibrant, dance-like buoyancy were employed along with washes to reproduce the shimmering effects of the unique atmosphere of »La Serenissima« (»The Most Serene«, as Venice was affectionately called). Compositions sparing in their use of drawing materials and confident in their feeling for expansive surfaces were the result.

Featuring some fifty drawings by more than twenty artists - among them Jacopo Tintoretto (1518-1594), Paolo Veronese (1528-1588), Sebstiano Ricci (1659-1734), Giovanni Battista Piazzetta (1682-1754) and Giuseppe Bernardino Bison (1762-1844) - the exhibition will present the various facets of Venetian draughtsmanship from the sixteenth century to the fall of the Republic of Venice in the eighteenth.

The show will enhance the concurrent major special exhibition "Tiepolo". Apart from shedding light on Tiepolo's development and his status among the artists of Venice, it will also provide insights into the distinguished collection of Venetian drawings in the holdings of the Staatsgalerie's Department of Prints, Drawings and Photographs.

 

Location

State Gallery Stuttgart
Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 30-32
70173 Stuttgart

Phone: +49 (0)711 470 40 0
Fax: +49 (0)711 236 99 83

Contact

State Gallery Stuttgart
Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 30-32
70173 Stuttgart

Phone: +49 (0)711 470 40 0
Fax: +49 (0)711 236 99 83

Dates & prices

  • 14.11.2019
  • 15.11.2019
  • 16.11.2019
  • 17.11.2019
  • 19.11.2019
  • 20.11.2019
  • 21.11.2019
  • 22.11.2019
  • 23.11.2019
  • Show more dates

Arrival

State Gallery Stuttgart

Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 30-32, 70173 Stuttgart

Travelling by car
Relaxed from door to door

Plan your trip with public transport

Your destination address Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 30-32, 70173 Stuttgart

powered by Deutsche Bahn AG

La Serenissima - Zeichenkunst in Venedig vom 16. bis 18. Jahrhundert

Location:
Staatsgalerie Stuttgart, Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 30-32, 70173 Stuttgart
Datum:

Innerhalb der Kunstlandschaften Italiens kommt Venedig eine besondere Stellung zu. Die ungewöhnlichen Lichtverhältnisse in der Lagunenstadt, die vom reflektierenden Wasser umgeben ist, inspirierten nicht nur die venezianischen Maler sondern vor allem auch die Zeichner. Der Strich, oft mit der Feder ausgeführt, übernimmt die führende Rolle: Schwungvoll, vibrierend und in tänzerischer Leichtigkeit werden spielerisch hingestreute Tupfen, Linienhäkchen und Lavierung eingesetzt, um die flimmernden Effekte der einzigartigen Atmosphäre von »La Serenissima« (der »Allerdurchlauchtigsten«, wie Venedig liebevoll genannt wurde) wiederzugeben. Dabei entstehen Kompositionen mit eher sparsam eingesetztem Zeichenmaterial und viel Gespür für ausgedehnte Flächen.

Die Ausstellung präsentiert mit rund 50 Zeichnungen von über 20 Künstlern, darunter Jacopo Tintoretto (1518–1594), Paolo Veronese (1528–1588), Sebstiano Ricci (1659–1734), Giovanni Battista Piazzetta (1682–1754) und Giuseppe Bernardino Bison (1762–1844), die unterschiedlichen Facetten der Venezianischen Zeichenkunst vom 16. Jahrhundert bis zum Niedergang der Republik Venedig im 18. Jahrhundert.

Begleitend zur Großen Sonderausstellung »Tiepolo« werden so zum einen Tiepolos Entwicklung und Stellenwert innerhalb der venezianischen Künstler aufgezeigt und zum anderen Einblicke in die bedeutende Sammlung Venezianischer Zeichnungen aus dem Bestand der Graphischen Sammlung der Staatsgalerie gegeben.

Die genauen Öffnungszeiten sowie weitere Infos finden Sie bei der Staatsgalerie.

Lage & Kontakt

Staatsgalerie Stuttgart
Konrad-Adenauer-Straße 30-32
70173 Stuttgart

Veranstalter: Staatsgalerie Stuttgart

Fahrplanauskunft des VVS

Planen Sie hier Ihre Anreise mit dem Verkehrs- und Tarifverbund Stuttgart GmbH (VVS)
Fahrplanauskunft des VVS