Bebenhausen Monastery and palace
In the middle of Schönbuch, amidst charming scenery, lies the former Cistercian Monastery of Bebenhausen, which was probably founded around 1183/84 by Palgrave Rudolph von Tübingen.
The monastery experienced its heyday in the 13th to 15th centuries, and was one of the wealthiest in Württemberg. Later it was used as a protestant monastery school and as a hunting palace for the Württemberg kings. In the years 1947 to 1952 it served as the seat of the "Landtag" (state parliament) of Württemberg-Hohenzollern. The monastery and palace are explored every year by a large number of visitors.
The monastery and palace are open all year round to visitors. There the Summer Refectory (Sommerrefektorium) - high Gothic and neo-Gothic decorations are combined here to produce an idyllic overall picture – or the King's chamber still preserved in its original state today. In addition to the regular guided tours, a many special guided tours provide information on the life of the monks and monastery students or are devoted to the special architectural features of the complex.