Museum in the Kleihues Building

The “Kornwestheim City Gallery” has existed since 1975, although it did not originally have its own permanent collection or exhibition space. In the 1970s and 1980s, rotating exhibitions were presented at the municipal cultural center.

After the city received an extensive endowment of several hundred works from the estate of Manfred Henninger, the town council decided in 1987 in favor of the construction of a dedicated municipal building for the artworks. Architect Josef Paul Kleihues was commissioned to design it, and it was built in 1988/89.

The Kleihues Building was inaugurated on November 24, 1989 as part of the large-scale national exhibition dedicated to Philipp Matthäus Hahn. The first art exhibition in the new gallery came the following year with the work of Joseph Beuys. Further exhibitions included A.R. Penck (1996), Tomi Ungerer (1996), and Georg Baselitz (1997).

The building was closed for three year beginning in 2000. It re-opened in 2003 as the “Museum in the Kleihues Building.” Since then, the collection has been continuously expanded in keeping with the new museum concept, which includes rotating presentations of contemporary international artists on the ground floor, as well as an area dedicated to display’s of the city’s cultural history.

In June of 2017, the museum became part of the list of cultural heritage sites in Baden-Württemberg.

Opening hours

Fri to Sun: 11 am – 6 pm

closed 1st, 6th Jan, Easter Monday, 21st May, Whit Monday, 11th Jun, 24th, 25th Dec

StuttCard Bonus

With StuttCard: Admission free

Location & Contact

Museum im Kleihues-Bau
Stuttgarter Straße 93
70806 Kornwestheim

Plan your trip

Verkehrs- und Tarifverbund Stuttgart GmbH
VVS timetable information

Deutsche Bahn AG
DB timetable information

• Ausstellungsraum im Museum im Kleihues-Bau
    Ausstellungsraum im Museum im Kleihues-Bau
  • Luftansicht vom Museum im Kleihues-Bau
    Luftansicht vom Museum im Kleihues-Bau
Entdecken

Museum im Kleihues-Bau

Stuttgarter Straße 93, 70806 Kornwestheim

Die „Galerie der Stadt Kornwestheim“ besteht seit 1975, damals noch ohne eigene Sammlung und Ausstellungslokalität. In den 1970er und 1980er Jahren wurden wechselnde Ausstellungen im damaligen Kulturhaus präsentiert.

Nachdem die Stadt eine umfangreiche Schenkung mit mehreren hundert Werken aus dem Nachlass Manfred Henninger erhalten hatte, wurde 1987 vom Gemeinderat der Bau eines eigenen Galeriegebäudes beschlossen. Der Architekt Prof. Josef Paul Kleihues wurde mit der Planung beauftragt und der Bau 1988/89 errichtet.
Der Kleihues-Bau wurde am 24. November 1989 mit der großen Landesausstellung zu Philipp Matthäus Hahn eröffnet. Die erste Kunstausstellung im Haus zeigte im Jahr darauf Joseph Beuys. Es folgten unter anderem Ausstellungen mit Werken von A.R. Penck (1996), Tomi Ungerer (1996) und Georg Baselitz (1997).

Nach knapp dreijähriger Schließung ab dem Jahr 2000 wurde das Haus 2003 als „Museum im Kleihues-Bau“ wiedereröffnet und die Sammlung der Neukonzeption entsprechend seitdem kontinuierlich ausgebaut. Die Neukonzeption sieht neben der wechselnden Präsentation zeitgenössischer internationaler Künstler im Erdgeschoss auch einen in der Geschichte der Stadt verankerten kulturhistorischen Sammlungs- und Präsentationsbereich vor.
Im Juni 2017 wurde das Museum im Kleihues-Bau in die Liste der Kulturdenmale in Baden-Württemberg aufgenommen. 

Kontakt

Museum im Kleihues-Bau
Stuttgarter Straße 93
70806 Kornwestheim

Telefon: +49 (0)7154 202 74 01
Fax: +49 (0)7154 202 74 04

www.museen-kornwestheim.de

Lage & Anreise

Anreise

Museum im Kleihues-Bau

Stuttgarter Straße 93, 70806 Kornwestheim

Anfahrt mit dem Auto
Entspannt von Tür zu Tür

Planen Sie hier Ihre Anreise mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln.

Ihre Zieladresse: Stuttgarter Straße 93, 70806 Kornwestheim

powered by Deutsche Bahn AG

Fahrplanauskunft des VVS

Planen Sie hier Ihre Anreise mit dem Verkehrs- und Tarifverbund Stuttgart GmbH (VVS).

Fahrplanauskunft des VVS